top of page

My Journey with music. Humor-Filled: Piece to Peace

Hey there!

Long time, No see!!

This is a post which is going to take you back 6 years in my life.

To the time where I hated pieces (AND THE PIANO) to the time where music is the source of my peace.

Buckle up, Get comfy with your seats. In 3,2,1:Lets go travelling.


Let's stop at the year 2015. This was the time when I completed my UPPER KINDERGARTEN (UKG), There was a music institute which stood in front of my school. To say the truth, I was never really interested in playing music or to learn how to actually play a instrument. But whenever I looked at someone playing an instrument, I was always fascinated at how people could do that. Soon my summer vacations came. I thought of having lots and lots of fun in these summer holidays. This is when my mom asked me whether I would like to learn a new instrument.


I don't know why, but I accepted to go. When I went to the place and asked the 'Sir' over there, he said that I could choose from either "Western Instrument" or "Western Vocals".

I thought that I could maybe opt for Western Vocals. Because, at that moment, the idea of learning instrument was freaking me out. I remember really well as to how I begged my mother to put me in vocals. Finally, my mom said to the 'SIR' that I would study for VOCALS.

For a split second I was happy...


You might ask :"Harshith, why only a split second??". Let me answer your question there. I don't know what struck my mom but changed her decision that I will go for Instruments- and especially the keyboard!!! đŸŽč I felt like my mom was hinting.


DUN... DUN DUNNNNNNN!!!!! đŸ€Ż

I don't know why, maybe my mom didn't want me too become like this:


Me as a kid. This could have been me... I don't know...đŸ€·đŸ»â€â™‚ïžđŸ€·đŸ»â€â™‚ïžđŸ˜ą

I felt really sad because I had set my mind for vocals but I joined instruments, I didn't know how helpful it would be for me 6 years later.


I remember the first music piece I ever saw someone talking about some of the 'HARDEST SONGS EVER' It was on YouTube and that seriously freaked me out. That piece was: Prelude and the Last Hope in C and C# minor — John Stump.

The song was so weird to hear and the notes were so jiggly & wobbly in front of my eyes that I couldn't even understand a single thing. Let alone play it on the keyboard. ¯\(°_o)/¯ I also thought that every song I would ever play on the keyboard would be like it.


Even after learning 3 grades of keyboard and 4 grades of Piano, I still don't understand anything đŸ€ŁđŸ˜†đŸ˜‚

HERE IS THE IMAGE OF THAT PIECE. đŸ‘†đŸ» LET ME KNOW IN THE COMMENTS WHETHER IT FREAKED YOU OR NOT...


Now, there were 3 things that really freaked me out:


  1. The 'SIR',

  2. The instruments

  3. The 'SIR' again...

1. The reason why I didn't like the instruments were because they were big and not so easy to understand. (And, Yes. I couldn't understand the instruments).


2. And the reason why I did not like the 'SIR' was because he was too scary (AND HE STILL IS!).


Good thing was: He said that I will be learning the basics not with him, but with Ma'am. (His wife).

Once he said that, I was like:


WOO HOO! đŸ‘ŒđŸ»đŸ™†đŸ»â€â™‚ïž

I studied the basics for about 2 and 1/2 wonderful years with new friends. Then came the official part. I was supposed to leave my 'MA'AM' and go back to my 'SIR'

Which was actually pretty okay with me because I was now comfortable with playing the keyboard. Soon I learnt that not all the pieces are Prelude and the Last Hope in C and C# minor by John Stump. But IT DIDN'T WORK OUT GOOD for some time.


JUST KIDDING 😆

I actually started liking my sir and learnt new things like:

Fortississimo: fff- very very loud

fortissimo: ff very loud

forte: f loud

mezzo-forte: mf moderately loud.

mezzo-piano: mp moderately quiet

piano p quiet

pianissimo pp very quiet

pianissimissimo ppp very very quiet

ETC, ETC, ETC...


But I started forgetting notes like :C,D,E,F,G,A,B,C: You might think that is very easy. But trust me, it is not.



There's a whole bunch of math in it, which I DON'T WANT TO EXPLAIN.

Anyways, moving on đŸ‘‰đŸ»â€Š

Soon, PIANO,THEORY AND MUSIC, WERE ALL MY FAVOURITES! YAYYYYY!

As I moved above a few more grades in my (TCL,'TRINITY COLLEGE LONDON'), it really started to matter. The hopes were high and I had to practice more and more and more!

Practice was đŸ”„đŸ”„ fiery and intense. And I was enjoying it all. My deep practice of around an hour when I feel like it. I was loving it❀. "PRACTICE MAKES A MAN PERFECT". Well, I guess it's true!


With nothing but 1 i455 Yamaha keyboard but longing for a piano. I still continue my ventures.


4th grade time and I moved to piano! 4th grade was a learning for me. I learnt to throw away my "Devil-may-care" attitude. And I became more serious and learnt with all my Heart, Soul and Passion mixed together. And my fingering and using the proper 'touch', improved!


But I still wanted to do better. The fire inside me is still red-hot, blazing and fueled with music.

Currently undertaking my 5th grade, my aim is to complete 8 grades and my Diploma in Music.


SO THAT'S THE END OF THIS POST EVERYONE!

Hope you liked this post!

Let me know about some of your experiences in the comments which are below my recent posts list in this page!

Cheerio!

Sending best wishes your way,

Harshith.






5ä»¶ăźă‚łăƒĄăƒłăƒˆ


mragav22
2020ćčŽ12月23æ—„

Hello Harsh, Loved this blog to every bits and 'pieces'. That john stump piece looks so cryptic, i don't know how anyone can even understand that. Btw love your writing style, looking forward to reading your upcoming 'pieces'. ;) All the best for your musical journey

ă„ă„ă­ïŒ

senthilkumar69055
2020ćčŽ12月23æ—„

Wow..its nice and funny reading keep rocking Harshith.. all the best to complete your 8 grades...Tarini

ă„ă„ă­ïŒ

ramya venkatesh
ramya venkatesh
2020ćčŽ12月22æ—„

Wow Harshith... That was wonderful... 😍😍... Keep it up.. Looking forward for more... My best wishes

ă„ă„ă­ïŒ

Senthil Ashokkumar
Senthil Ashokkumar
2020ćčŽ12月22æ—„

Kudos champ... keep rocking

ă„ă„ă­ïŒ

snegalatha
snegalatha
2020ćčŽ12月22æ—„

Hilarious đŸ€ŁđŸ€ŁđŸ€Ł

ă„ă„ă­ïŒ
bottom of page