top of page

May the '4th' be with you...

Hi there!

Harshith here!

Welcome back to another post!

Today is Star Wars Day!

Star Wars is one of my most favorite movie series.

I am a crazy fan and that is what this post is about.

So... sit tight, hope you are comfy. Because we are going back to:


A long time ago in a far, far galaxy...



 

Every Star Wars movie starts with this line.

And so did my journey with Star Wars. I have always been fascinated with different intergalactic machines and space biomes. They look cool and because humans do not know anything about space, it's mainly up to our imagination.


One day when I was a 7 year old kid, I was just exploring my house for something interesting.

I found this weird looking, small black box near the TV stand. I asked my dad what that was and he told me it was a 'HARD DISK'. That thing had about 25- 30 movies in it and about a 1000 photos of me when I was a wee little kid and our family. It also had some random stuff in it. I wanted to watch something interesting and I started looking around the disk to see what movies were available for us to watch. I found 'The Shawshank Redemption' in there but from the name* I knew that it was DEFINITELY not my age. (*It was because the name was hard to pronounce 🤣) So I watched the Star Wars series instead! I am actually very glad that I could not pronounce SHAWSHANK. The series was really interesting. The world of different creatures, the sound effects, bounty hunters who live in different planets the hi-tech vehicles were all part of my childhood. I actually enjoyed watch TV after that. (I was never always a TV kid but more of a bookish kid). I connected my love for books to my love for Star Wars by collecting Star Wars comics, Star Wars Annual Books which I never kept down. And even Lego Star Wars sets! Those Annual Books were something I got in trouble for. I have this very big and thick white Lego Star Wars book which features sets from different years and different movies! It shows how Lego sets and minifigures are customized etc.! If you look up on Google on 'TOP 10 LEGO THEMES' this is what you will get:


I guess you understand now.


 

Me in Thailand (and secretly in a Toy Store's Star Wars Galaxy!)

I begged for that lightsaber you know. I really wanted it but on another side I actually didn't want it. I was slowly becoming addicted to Star Wars. I got a lightsaber a few years ago and it looks cool (it's a blue one). The Star Wars series was all I could think about at one point and soon my parents got the craze too! My mom started singing 'Nee sumandha pillai, Star Wars inn thollai, thanga mudiyavillai!' Meaning: 'Oh the kid I gave birth to, has a Star Wars craze, cannot be tolerated!' It was a really good joke my mom made. And after I got new crazes she took out the Star Wars word and added my new craze. Something like: 'Oh the kid I gave birth to, is a *insert name of new craze here* craze, cannot be tolerated!'


Oooooooo. A stormtrooper... I wonder what his mission is...

Look at the Bottom Right. Those things were the most popular Star Wars Collectibles at the time. But I didn't want them.

 

So... on my 7th birthday, my parents surprised me with a Star Wars Cake and the lightsaber! I also got a Kylo Ren Lego Technic Set!

Here is me with all that stuff:


 

Everyone has this school memory where only they had something which no one else had at all. My memory is having a water bottle. I had this cute looking Yoda water bottle. Cute for me but terrifying for my friends. It used to have a blazing fire from which a holographic version of Yoda comes out with his green lightsaber. I used to drink water from it like CRAZY. Sometimes my friends talked to me about Star Wars and I would tell them and I just looked like that guy who loooooves Star Wars.

 

I love STAR WARS (I think you can tell by now)

And I love Legos. So I explored a new genre in Lego.

LEGO STAR WARS!

I have tons of these sets. Here are two of them. (The only ones in the temporary archive.)



When I went to Malaysia to visit my very very cool uncle😎🆒, he gave me a surprise by taking me to watch Star Wars Rogue One! And with the special effects like a shaking chair, speakers below our seats. You get it. The whole package. It gave me a more immersive journey to the STAR WARS universe.


A few days after that, I went to LEGOLAND MALAYSIA! My lifetime dream! (Second after becoming an astronaut) I got this cool looking Rogue One set with a bunch of new gen troops and the one, the only Chirrut Îmwe! I could feel the force just connecting the pieces while I was building the set!




Today is a day to celebrate the JEDI and not the SITH.

So let's forget them. (Although they are the life of the Star Wars universe. We can argue on that some other day.)



Although my journey has stopped for a while, I know for a fact that I will be back.

Until then, May The Force Be with You.

Love,

Harshith.


⭐Social Links:⭐

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/43497535-harshith

YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbgY9jpikoPIhQD2Af8GBQA

Sub confirmation/Subscribe: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbgY9jpikoPIhQD2Af8GBQA?sub_confirmation=1 Subscribe to my channel for more bookish talk using the link above

Follow my blog for more posts like this.

4件のコメント


Banu Rekha
Banu Rekha
2021年5月07日

I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. You used to conduct quiz in star wars in which fail miserably 😂 I watched those movies like completing an assignment so that I could choose things you like better.One day, let's watch Shawshank redemption together. That's one of my favorites. Keep writing and bring us joy❤️

いいね!

Priyancka Thukral
Priyancka Thukral
2021年5月04日

Very interesting journey and besties for your passion

いいね!

snegalatha
snegalatha
2021年5月04日

enjoyed reading the journey! May the craziness continue 🤣🤣🤣

いいね!
Banu Rekha
Banu Rekha
2021年5月07日
返信先

Nee sumandha pillai 😂😂 very funny.

いいね!
bottom of page