top of page

Keep calm and Face Mask On :P



“The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen or even touched. They must be felt with the heart”


The above quote was written by Helen Keller. Almost her whole life she was never a normal person like us. She was both blind and deaf. Her main way of knowing the world was through touch and feeling. In this post, my main aim is to connect with you all through feelings.


Before I wrote this post, my dad told me, " We all come together for a feeling. Not for silly things." This post will be about my travel from Chennai to Pune.





It was a sunny but cold morning, only one thing was running in my mind. ' 10 JULY '. It was the 10th of July.You could see me at my uncle's house with a dull, shrunken, tired but glossy face. Even though I was travelling today, I had to attend school as I had a lot of important classes that day. I arrived at my uncle's house the day before. My flight was supposed to take off at 6 in the evening. Our plan was to arrive 3 hours before take off.


My uncle's house was near the airport so, we could reach Chennai Airport in 20 mins.

Before this lock down, me and my parents, we used to roam in the city a lot. We loved going to beaches, visiting relatives in the city and trying new snacks. The drive from my uncle's house to the airport is one drive I will never forget. I saw the sandy, deserted beaches with all the chaat stalls in one straight line, my IMO examination hall, and at last the majestic high rising [under construction] airport.


I got butterflies in my stomach. I could feel my increased breathing, my heart thumping, my stomach churning and my mind, flooded with memories of me enjoying my life so far in Chennai. My brief life of 11 years at Chennai passed through my eyes. My eyes were brimming with tears. But, it was not a time for lollygagging and emotional hallucinations in which I was falling endlessly into Chennai soil.


I put on my mask, gloves, power glasses and I stepped into the airport like a warrior entering a battlefield. The security checks were a breeze as Chennai was sooo empty. I had never seen Chennai Airport so empty.


While we were waiting, we bought some coffee and a small can of Fanta. When I was at the waiting hall, I saw how the airport authorities practised social distancing while sitting. I wanted to take a photo to keep as a memory. I am attaching that too:



This next picture is me and my family before boarding the flight.


Before boarding the flight, we undertook Thermal Screening. Then we boarded the flight. Before take off, again my brief life of 11 years at Chennai passed through my eyes. My eyes were brimming with tears.

Then at exactly 6:07, the flight took off.

The sound was very close to the sound of the increasing force of water in a Jacuzzi. Before take off, I could sense a weight in my mind but while we were cruising in the air, I saw a wonderful sight which took off all the tension from my mind. It was a wonderful formation by the clouds up above.I have captured those moments. I would like to share them with you.



Whilst we were descending, I saw a different scene. The first layer was white and full of clouds which looked like cotton and tempted me to touch it. The second layer was a brown layer which was full of hills and then came the green layer of paddy fields and trees. I have travelled to Bangalore many times in many modes of transport like: Car, Bus, Train and Flight. Even though I have flown to Bangalore, I don't remember that trip because, I was

2&1/2 years old at that time. I never knew Bangalore was so green but only in this flight did I learn that Bangalore has a lot of greenery in it. I also saw a highway. Generally, Bangalore highways are very congested but this time there was only one car in the whole highway. I was shocked :O :O :O

Soon,we landed at Kempegowda Airport [Bengaluru]. Our wait at Kempegowda was a long one [2 & 1/2 hours]. While Chennai airport was sooo empty, Bangalore airport was sooo crowded. While looking at this crowd I was scared. Everyone was standing shoulder to shoulder without following social distancing. We had dinner at Bangalore airport. The rule at Bangalore was that the person sitting in the middle was supposed to wear a PPE kit. My mother is the one who always sits in the middle. So,she wore the PPE kit.

(Insert laughing and gagging sound here)

This picture is me as a warrior:




Soon our flight left and after 30 mins, I got a wonderful view of Pune. I took a photo of that for memory.


I saw this mechanism of a space bridge which was very fascinating. I have explained that.


We finally landed at Chhatrapati Sambhaji Maharaj Airport by 10:38.

At Pune airport, the authorities put a stamp on my hand which said that I had to undergo 14 days of Home Quarantine. It has been 9 days and I am longing to go outside.


Hope you liked this post,

If you have any suggestions, you can submit a form with your feedback in it and I will try to reply.

Stay home, Stay safe.

Happy Sunday!!

Love,

Harshith <3



Kommentarer


bottom of page