top of page

A NIGHT IN THE BLACK HOLE : A ROBOT’S NIGHT OUT

I didn’t understand! I slept as a normal boy with five fingers and looking at my favourite Milky Way poster. But now, I have red cylindrical wrists, a speedometer, a chronograph and a robotic voice. At least I have my brains with me. I try to speak but all I can say for now is “My name is XF030509” and “My programmer is Eon Dostchev of the Roscosmos”.

When I look around I see some… no, a lot of stars. I know it must be bright but I guess or my circuits are telling me, I am now a Robot. So the blinding lights for a human don’t hurt me. I touch my head and suddenly an automated voice says “Atom vision activated” and then I see millions of atoms gliding around me! Then I somehow deactivated the atom vision and started to float towards the nearest star and looked at the gaseous star. I could see it fuming and the layer of gas around it. I honestly must say I don’t think I am anywhere near the Earth because I see the Milky Way galaxy in the distance. To say the truth the real Milky Way galaxy does not look any closer to the poster hanging in my room. I try to call out for help but all is gone in vain. All I can see is the black endless space around me.

I float for some more time and see something in the distance. My circuits tell me it’s a spaceship and someone comes out of the hatch. The hatch has a logo on it and I immediately recognise it as the Roscosmos logo. I am sure because there is one below my chronograph. I think this might be a rescue party for me.



An astronaut glides towards me and I do the same. But he does something like a somersault and I see that his tethering rope is cut so I glide to save him. In the nick of time I caught him and took him to his spaceship and informed to his team, “Your friend is safe now”.

But that was not what I wanted to say. I feel I have to do something about this weird control over me. I go to see if the astronaut can help me. When I go, the astronaut said “You must be XF030509”. “Eon has told me a lot about you when I was a trainee”. He taps at a button which I didn’t notice before and then a small panel with three keys opened. He typed in a code: 356. The automated voice said “Access granted”. At that time the astronaut said “You are free to talk now” and he chuckled. So, I decided that was the time to tell them everything and when I did they believed me. Little did I know regarding what was going to happen next. The human part of me wanted to do something else.

It looked like they were preparing for a mission. So I asked them what their mission was and where they were going? They said that they were going on a mission to a black hole near the outskirts of the Milky Way galaxy. I asked if I could join them. The astronaut said yes but his crew didn’t look too keen about it and for your information I now found my new companion. Then everyone in the Crew introduced themselves, Adrik was the one I saved, the others were Ivan and Mira. I was delighted to meet them all. They took me to the work area and briefed me through the mission. An astronaut said that they were here for a very long time but he was not the one I saved. This was the man with the garbled accent. I looked around and everywhere I look, I only see workstations, stashes of food, transport, parts of satellites, you name it, it was here. So we started to chalk out the plan using holograms and projectors. The holograms showed the position of the black hole, The Milky Way and our spaceship. It was time for the black hole adventure and we started in the Star which was a special spaceship for this mission.

The holograms showed that we have reached our destination. While we were about to exit the spaceship Adrik told me to stay close and carry the weapons along with. You might be wondering why weapons; well apparently there are black hole monsters which is just pure myth. This place has no Wi-Fi so I can’t ask google. Never mind we are inside the black hole, this is so homey: We have rubber duckies, bath tubs, armchairs, a cot etc. We have come all the way to save one person which is Eon Dostchev. Wait a minute, isn’t Eon Dostchev my programmer? They say that he has been lost in space for 5 years now and I was created during this time period. I am so hyped to meet my programmer. We see another spaceship which was poorly built using scrap material. Inside was a man with a white beard and a black moustache overall with a salt and pepper look. Adrik told me he was Eon, we quickly got of the star and floated towards Eon. When Eon looked at me he exclaimed “Issac Asimov*!, you are back”(* is the creator of the robot series). “You are finally here, let’s get out of this dungeon”. Eon converses in Russian with the crew and we started to head back to home. I thought about my home and told Eon about it and he said he could transport me anywhere and it was the last goodbye. I was teleported to my home and I hid the teleporter and acted like sleeping. When it turned 7AM I heard my mom scream “Harshith it is time to get ready and you are running late to school”. I woke up and got ready for my daily adventure. When I was walking to school I saw clouds in the shape of Star spaceship. Out came Eon and asked “Do you want a ride to your school” and he winked.



This story won the first prize in the Gyanpro Sci Fi creative writing competition.


Love

Harshith<3

Kommentare


bottom of page